March 16th, 2021.

Voters in Lewes district will go to the polls on May the 6th in elections for East Sussex County Council and the Sussex Police and Crime Commissioner.

There will also be the following elections in Newhaven and Seaford:

Newhaven Town Council (Denton and South Wards only)
Seaford Town Council (East Ward and Sutton Wards)
Seaford East District Council
Seaford West District Council

Voters have a range of options for casting their ballot – in person, by post or by appointing someone they trust to vote in their place, known as a proxy vote.

For those who choose to vote in person, polling stations will be safe places to vote on May the 6th, with measures in place such as social distancing, hand sanitiser, one-way systems and face masks.

In order to vote, residents must be on the electoral register.

The deadline to register to vote is midnight on Monday, April the 19th and it takes just five minutes to apply online at www.gov.uk/registertovote

Ailsa Irvine, Director of Electoral Administration and Guidance at the Electoral Commission, explaines: “You can’t have your say in these important elections unless you are registered to vote. It’s quick and easy – it takes just five minutes online at www.gov.uk/registertovote

“If you have recently turned 18 or moved home, it is particularly important that you act to ensure that you are registered to vote.

“If you were registered to vote in the last election and your details have not changed, you don’t need to take any action. If in doubt, you can check with your local authority on 01273 471600.”

The deadline to apply for a postal vote is 5.00pm on April the 20th, and for a proxy vote the deadline is 5.00pm on April the 27th.

For information on elections, how to register to vote, or how to apply to vote by post or by proxy, visit www.electoralcommission.org.uk/voter
About Us
Archive News
© Redcat Marketing Limited.
Privacy Policy